For marine aquarists in Hampton Roads and beyond!

Anemone problem

61 replies [Last post]
sm1bentley
sm1bentley's picture
User offline. Last seen 6 years 4 weeks ago. Offline

I don't believe in murder..but I really want this anemone gone. The problem is that this anemone has split (now there are two on this rock) and on the other side is a beautiful yellow polyp colony that I love. The anemone is just too big and starting to "reach out" just a little too close for comfort to other coral...My extremely large mushroom leather in particular. Moving the rock is really not an options because it is just going to reach out to something else.

Any suggestions??

sm1bentley
sm1bentley's picture
Let me just add...Since I am

Let me just add...Since I am new to all this, I may just be overly paranoid about the sting of an anemone. I have been reading alot lately (and yes I know you can't believe everything you read) but its scary to think about how much money I may have to flush down the drain if it decided to go on a killing spree...LOL

Feel free to tell me I am overreacting!

Brian
Brian's picture
User offline. Last seen 2 years 51 weeks ago. Offline
dont kill the anemone, if he

dont kill the anemone, if he gets to a point where u cant stand him try to sell him or give him away. i cant speak to how much damage he could cause to your corals. mine has touched corals and they never were bothered by it. on the other hand their sting definitley effects fish.

Why yes I am a Reefer! Are you? Check Out my tank here: http://reefchief.us/forum/2009/05/06/brian-and-jaimes-120-reef

Patrick
Patrick's picture
User offline. Last seen 3 years 13 weeks ago. Offline
If it were another type of